Review: Lily Allen “Hard Out Here” Music Video

Last week, Lily Allen released her video for “Hard Out Here”.  I really wanted to start a discussion about this video because it makes for some great commentary on sexism, women in the music business, and gender roles.  Because of some of the lyrics, I don’t think it will get much airplay here in the states.  That’s why I decided to share it with you here.  Also, this is the smartest music video of the year!

To start off, the video and song are amazing!  The song really presents a story of how women are sexualized and degraded and the video visualizes it in a satirical way.  This song and video are a direct parody on Robin Thicke’s summer hit “Blurred Lines”.  Look at the comparisons here.

I don’t know if Robin realized it when he wrote it, he probably thought he was just going to be “The man”, but the song is actually about rape culture.  What’s great about Lily’s song is that she combats lots of things from that song and video in a very smart and highbrow way.  Please don’t look at this video and say “Ian, she just sat there and objectified women for 3 minutes.” As Lily says in the lyrics, “And if you can’t detect the sarcasm you’ve misunderstood”

Check out the video below and let me know what you think.  By the way, it’s a little bit explicit and I wouldn’t watch it in the workplace like I did. Whoops.